5th District


4th Class Municipality

Number of Barangay: 22

The town of Laoac got its name from the Ilocano expression “nag-la-oa daytoy nga tay-aken” which translates to “How wide this plain is!”. The first Ilocano settlers in late 19th century were in awe as they look at the lush flatlands as people exclaim “Nag’la’oa daytoy nga tay-aken!”.

Laoac is the youngest municipality in the province of Pangasinan. The Provincial Board of Pangasinan approved the Municipal Council Resolution No. 29, converting Laoac into a distinct town. The Provincial Board endorsed the resolution to Congress in 1971. Congressman Antonio P. Villar, Sr. filed the R.A No. 6485, aiming to establish the municipality of Laoac but the proclamation of Martial Law delayed the process.

Due to the persistence and unwavering resolve of political leaders like Hon. Antonio Villar, Hon. Conrado Estrella, Hon. Jeremias Montemayor, the Hon Felipe de Vera and Hon. Roque de Guzman, all were Assemblymen from Pangasinan, the town was created on March 5, 1980, headed by its first chief executive, Mayor Westrimundo Tabayoyong.

Laoac is part of the fifth congressional district of Pangasinan. It has a land area of 4,050 hectares and a population of 34,128 according to the 2020 census.

The town’s vast flatlands and fertile soil made Laoac an ideal place for farming with rice and corn as its prime commodities. One of the largest dairy farms in the province, the Laoac Dairy Farm, produces pasteurized milk that will soon be distributed in various feeding programs for malnourished children in Pangasinan. Under the administration of Governor Ramon V. Guico III, the management and operation of the facility are now handled by the Provincial Government as it shoulders the operating costs. This is mainly to multiply breeder stock and to create more business opportunities for the people for viable community-based activities. It is likewise envisioned to generate more livelihood, employment, and income, thereby reducing poverty and improving quality of life.


Ricardo Balderas

Vice Mayor
Nelson Gayo

Glaiza Mae Collado
Wilson Quinto
Yolanda Rufo
Charito Calica
Rolando Ramos
Edgar Elleazar
Jose Benedict Lopena
Ruben Allado

Latest News & Updates

28 December 2023
2023: Pangasinan's Year of Great Advancements
20 December 2023
Pangasinan shines in the recently concluded 2023 Regional Skills...
19 December 2023
TESDA spearheads 2023 Regional Skills Competition