2nd District


3rd Class Municipality

Number of Barangay: 16

The municipality of Aguilar was known during the colonial period as Sitio Balubad, which was part of the town of Binalatongan, now San Carlos, where the Spaniards used the land as a cattle ranch. On July 16, 1805, Aguilar was established as an independent civil political unit by Governor General Rafael Maria de Aguilar, after whom the town was named.

Aguilar is located 16 kilometers south of the provincial capital Lingayen and is part of the second congressional district. It has a land area of 19,506 hectares and a population of 45,100 people according to the 2020 census.

An up-and-coming tourist destination, Aguilar boasts a long list of attractions visitors can enjoy. The Daang Katutubo, a 24-kilometer scenic route that spans the rolling hills of Aguilar, has been a boon for the local economy as tourists from all over Luzon want to experience the “Little Batanes” of Pangasinan. The Ansakket Festival, which is celebrated every October, is also a way to celebrate Aguilar’s glutinous rice (ansakket) products.

The town’s main products are rice, corn, vegetables, taho, mangoes, deremen, suman, and luffa. Aguilar’s poultry and livestock industry, which includes cows, pigs, carabaos, goats, chickens, and domestic ducks, also contributes to its local economy.


Kristal Soriano

Vice Mayor
Jesus Zamuco

Evelyn Villanueva
Tito Cortez
Ramon Sison
Angelo Limos
Renato Cervantes
Defin Dumlao
Domingo Almer Villanueva
Jessie Posadas

Latest News & Updates

28 December 2023
2023: Pangasinan's Year of Great Advancements
20 December 2023
Pangasinan shines in the recently concluded 2023 Regional Skills...
19 December 2023
TESDA spearheads 2023 Regional Skills Competition