The town of Urbiztondo got its name from General Antonio de Urbiztondo y Villasis, a Spanish Governor in the Philippines at the time. He was famous for his conquest of Jolo in 1852. During his term, he issued a decree establishing the town as well as naming it Urbiztondo in his honor.

Urbiztondo was a visita of San Carlos until its separation in 1852. Notable figures such as Fr. Ramon Dalmau, the parish priest of San Carlos, spearheaded the efforts for a separate town. The Dominicans formed the vicarate of Urbiztondo in 1855 appointing Rev. Father Francisco Treserra, the man responsible for the relocation of the old town to now the current town proper.

Urbiztondo is part of the second congressional district bordering the city of San Carlos and the towns of Aguilar, Bayambang, Basista, and Mangatarem. It has a total land area of 8,180 hectares and a population of 55,557 people according to the 2020 census.

An agricultural town, Urbiztondo uses a significant portion of its land dedicated to farming, livestock, and poultry industry. Its main crop is palay, with more than half of its farmlands dedicated to farming rice. Corn is a distant second followed by, fruits, root crops, and coconut.


Modesto Operana

Vice Mayor
Volter Balolong

Mirla Balolong
Alexis De Vega
Pepito Calugay
Zanaida Espinosa
Renzie Dispo
Reynaldo Bautista
Dyna De Guzman
Joel Frias


There once was a tamarind tree towering over the center of the town, making other trees look small in comparison. Onlookers looked back in awe as they passed by the giant tree. When people asked them what route they took to return home, they simply said “through Lingayen,” a word derived from the Pangasinan word “lingawen” or “to look back.” Since then, the town bears the same name.

Lingayen was founded in 1614 after Augustinian and Spanish conquistadors drew a plan to establish the town. Lingayen was established as the capital of Pangasinan when the province became an encomienda. Lingayen was the theater for some of the bloodiest battles of World War II. When the Japanese invaded the province, Lingayen was one of their main targets due to its strategic location. Not long after the invasion, dozens of US-sponsored guerrilla groups sprouted across Pangasinan to defend their motherland against the brutal Japanese invaders. General Douglas MacArthur chose the Lingayen Gulf as the spot where his massive liberation fleet would land. Lingayen, along with other coastal towns in Pangasinan, became the venue for one of the biggest Allied landings of the Second World War that resulted in the liberation of the country from the Japanese.

The Municipality of Lingayen is the capital of the Province of Pangasinan. It is part of the second congressional district, bordering the towns of Labrador to the east, Bugallon to the south, and Binmaley to the west. Lingayen has a total land area of 6,276 hectares and a population of 107,728 according to the 2020 census. Lingayen hosts several national and provincial government offices, which include the Capitol Building that houses the offices of the provincial governor, vice governor, board members, as well as the Sangguniang Panlalawigan session hall. The Urduja House is also located in Lingayen, the official residence of the governor of Pangasinan.

There are several tourist attractions in Lingayen, including the Casa Real, once used as the provincial seat of government, in contrast to the Capitol Complex, which is the current provincial seat of government. The Sison Auditorium, a world-class venue, hosts some of the most important events in the province. The well-preserved ancestral home of former President Fidel V. Ramos is also located in Lingayen. Lastly, the Lingayen Baywalk is one of the newest attractions in the capital town.

Lingayen is known for its bagoong-making industry, with 60 small to medium bagoong processors registered in 2019. With bagoong as the municipality’s One Town One Product (OTOP) and its most lucrative industry, the town has been celebrating the Bagoong Festival since 2011.


Leopoldo Bataoil

Vice Mayor
Mac Dexter Malicdem

Jay Mark Kevin Crisostomo
John Marc Lopez
Ramon Anselmo Cuaresma
Rodulfo Luigi Morosi
Jasper Pasion
Jonathan Ramos
Von Carlo Tiangson
Ricardo Ferrer
Darwin Jimenez (ABC President)
Gabriel Ivan C. Tuazon


Formerly known as San Isidro Labrador after its patron saint St. Isidro Labrador, the town of San Isidro Labrador was created in 1754 and headed by Captain Vicente Escano. It became an independent town in 1939 and was renamed Labrador through the Republic Act No. 2390.

Part of the second congressional district, Labrador is located 17 kilometers west of the capital town of Lingayen. It has a land area of 9,099 hectares and a population of 26,811 according to the 2020 census.

Labrador is considered to be one of the safest towns in the province as it is flood free and far from fault lines. There are several natural wonders that tourists can visit in Labrador like the Tinakayan Falls, a hidden gem nestled in Labrador’s lush jungle. People also visit Mt. San Isidro, the tallest mountain in Pangasinan standing at 2450 ft. above sea level. There are several resorts operating in Labrador, mostly located along the town’s beautiful beach.

Labrador is famous for its broom and sawali-making industries. Thanks to the abundance of bamboo in the area, sawali making in Labrador has been a major source of livelihood among the locals. Labrador has been celebrating its Sawali Festival annually to celebrate its most lucrative product.


Ernesto Acain

Vice Mayor
Artemio Arenas

Noel Uson
Jojit Benigno Aquino
Raymund Manaois
Daisy Jane Nabua
Mark Arthur Camacho
Juan Pansoy
Alexander Estrada
Mona Liza Asis  


Named after its local hero Major Jose Torres Bugallon, the town was originally called “Salasa”, a floor joist where the floor is attached to in a wooden house. The town was renamed in 1921 after congressional approval sponsored by then-first district Congressman Mauro Navarro. Salasa became just a barangay within Bugallon after approval.

Bugallon is part of the second congressional district and is eight kilometers from Lingayen. It has a land area of 18,964 hectares and a population of 23,749 according to the 2020 census.

The town is home to Mt. Zion Pilgrim Site, a popular destination among the faithful. The site is also a go to place for local tourists with its ATV trail and dirt bike course.

Bugallon is an agricultural municipality producing rice, corn, cassava, sugar cane, and vegetables. The rich farmlands are aided by the famous Dumuluc Dam providing proper irrigation to the town’s rice fields. Aside from its agricultural sector, Bugallon also has a considerable aquaculture industry, dedicating 240 hectares to fishponds that produce bangus and tilapia.


The municipality of Binmaley got its name from the Pangasinan phrase “nanmaliw ya baley”, or a place that has been converted into a town since it is believed that the municipality was formerly a part of the town of Binalatongan, now known as San Carlos City.

Binmaley is part of the second congressional district of Pangasinan and is located only four kilometers away from the capital town of Lingayen. According to the 2020 census data, it has a land area of 11,850 hectares and a population of 86,881.

One of Binmaley’s famous events is the Sigay Festival, which celebrates the harvest season in Pangasinan. The festival showcases the town’s rich agricultural industry, with Bangus or milkfish aquaculture being a significant industry in the area. The mineral content in the fish ponds and river systems of Binmaley is believed to be responsible for the delectable taste of the Bangus, which is often dubbed the tastiest in the world.

In addition to its agricultural industry, Binmaley is also known for its woodworking industry, along with its neighboring town of Lingayen. Furniture shops can be found along the Lingayen-Binmaley Road, showcasing their unique techniques and craftsmanship.

Tourists visiting Binmaley can also visit the Binmaley Church, also known as the Our Lady of Purification Parish Church. It is a 396-year-old church located in the town proper and is one of the oldest churches in Pangasinan. The church is known for its intricate architecture and religious significance, making it a popular destination for tourists and locals alike.


Pedro Merrera

Vice Mayor
Simplicio Rosario

Amelito Sison
Ariel Dela Concha
Jallen Alipio
Joel Jose Carrera
Rolando Ferrer
Urbano Delos Angeles
Gericho Francisco
Aurora Gene Cagaoan


Basista was once the largest barrios of San Carlos. The town was founded after a long legal battle between then-president Carlos P. Garcia and the Supreme Court. Garcia Issued Executive Order No. 446 paving the way for the creation of the municipality of Basista only to be declared illegal by the Supreme Court four years later. Only after Representative Jack L. Soriano filed the Republic Act No. 4866 and enacted into law that Basista became a municipality in Pangasinan.

The town belongs to the second congressional district of Pangasinan and is 29 kilometers from the capital town of Lingayen. Basista has a land area of 3,050 hectares and a population of 37,679 according to the latest 2020 census.

Basista is known for its annual celebration of the Basista Town Fiesta which features street dancing, colorful costumes, and various activities such as beauty pageants, parades, and a grand ball.

Basista’s major products include rice, corn, vegetables, poultry, handicrafts, and homemade food items.


Jolly R. Resuello

Vice Mayor
Dante Bustarde

Christian Bacani
Jake Niccole Perez
Dominador Frias
Monica Ramos
Vanessa Baraquio
Marino Capua
Bernard Doria
Teresita Erguiza


Mangatarem got its name from the Ilocano words “Manga ken Tirem” which means “mango and oyster”. It was coined when two woodcutters happened to meet in a forested area that is now part of the current town proper. One woodcutter brought mangoes to eat while the other brought some oysters. When the two men noticed, they both exclaimed “Manga ken Tirem”, thus, the name Mangatarem.

Originally established as a visita of San Carlos in 1827, Mangatarem became an independent town in 1835 headed by its first gobernadorcillo Don Ambrocio Gutierrez and its designated parish priest Dominican friar Father Joaquin Perez.

Part of the second congressional district, Mangatarem neighbors the towns of Aguilar and Urbiztondo. It is 29 kilometers from the capital town of Lingayen. Mangatarem has a total land area of 31,750 hectares, the largest town in the province. It has a population of 79,323 people according to the 2020 census.

Located in Mangatarem is the Manleluag Hot Spring National Park, a 1,935-hectare protected area that boasts two ophiolitic hot springs near the extinct volcano Mount Malabobo. The Manleluag Hot Spring National Park is home to 90 bird species and several other vulnerable and endangered species like the Philippine deer, cloud rat, and Philippine warty pig.

Connecting the towns of Mangatarem, Pangasinan and Santa Cruz, Zambales is Daang Kalikasan, a 60-kilometer four-way lane national highway. The cool breeze and picturesque view of Daang Kalikasan made Mangatarem a local hit for tourists. Its rolling hills are now being compared to the likes of Batanes and Apao Rolling Hills of Abra.


The municipality of Aguilar was known during the colonial period as Sitio Balubad, which was part of the town of Binalatongan, now San Carlos, where the Spaniards used the land as a cattle ranch. On July 16, 1805, Aguilar was established as an independent civil political unit by Governor General Rafael Maria de Aguilar, after whom the town was named.

Aguilar is located 16 kilometers south of the provincial capital Lingayen and is part of the second congressional district. It has a land area of 19,506 hectares and a population of 45,100 people according to the 2020 census.

An up-and-coming tourist destination, Aguilar boasts a long list of attractions visitors can enjoy. The Daang Katutubo, a 24-kilometer scenic route that spans the rolling hills of Aguilar, has been a boon for the local economy as tourists from all over Luzon want to experience the “Little Batanes” of Pangasinan. The Ansakket Festival, which is celebrated every October, is also a way to celebrate Aguilar’s glutinous rice (ansakket) products.

The town’s main products are rice, corn, vegetables, taho, mangoes, deremen, suman, and luffa. Aguilar’s poultry and livestock industry, which includes cows, pigs, carabaos, goats, chickens, and domestic ducks, also contributes to its local economy.


Kristal Soriano

Vice Mayor
Jesus Zamuco

Evelyn Villanueva
Tito Cortez
Ramon Sison
Angelo Limos
Renato Cervantes
Defin Dumlao
Domingo Almer Villanueva
Jessie Posadas