News & Updates

SP commend Pangasinense Math Wizards

Members of the Sangguniang Panlalawigan (SP) during a regular session on July 31, approved a resolution authored by Nicholi Jan Louie Sison commending Special Program in Mathematics (SPM) students and teacher-coaches of Don Ramon E. Costales Memorial National High School (DRECMNHS) for bagging various medals in different competitions organized by Math Olympiads Training League, Incorporated (MOTLI).

The SPM students have participated in different competitions organized by MOTLI to include the following: Thailand International Math Olympiad (TIMO), Guangdong-Hong Kong-Macau Greater Bay Area Mathematical Olympiad, Philippine International Math Olympiad (PHIMO), and Hong Kong International Math Olympiad (HKIMO).

In total, the Pangasinense Math wizards pocketed 18 gold medals, 23 silver medals, and 21 bronze medals. Aside from this, five outstanding teacher coach awards were garnered by the team as well as two outstanding school awards. DRECMNHS of Villasis, Pangasinan ranked 7th and 5th in PHIMO and HKIMO, respectively.

The math wizards team is composed of the following 33 students: Virginia C. Balolong, Karl Santino F. Penuliar, Diether B. Abrina, Ranee Randi Regua, Govind Kurstie F. Ellorin, Abenson, Q. Botuyan, Aljun Alejandro, Michelle Mae Libao, David Lanz O. Mairina, Tyler I. Cemanes, Daniella Claire S. Obillo, Chloe D. Verceles, Blessing Joy B. Madriaga, Rhiane Jane N. Rapajon, Arwin James M. Nozuelo, Valerie Pauleen G. Ragasa, Mikaela Jade Menor, Jon Nathan D. Ladimo, Jean Michelle M. Flores, Glyzl R. Sanchez, Athena Greycielle B. Evangelista, Eliza Jelyn G. Comora, Gari Andrew G. Calaus, Lady Julianna G. Corpuz, Charles Noel M. Abrena, Ezra Victoria Alao, Kathleen Erika D. Nagano, Rufa Fe B. Honrado, Mark Klarence F. Penuliar, Rizajane T. Quirona, Shayne Angel M. Lopez, Felix Francis B. Sison, and Harold B. Abrina.

Teacher-coaches who were behind the SPM team are as follows: Mr. Charlie M. Sison, Mr. Rusty C. Rabara, Mr. Aries R. Pangingbatan and Ms. Olivia S. Ibay.

The SPM team is bound to compete in the PHIMO Final Round to be held from September 22-25 at Jose Maria College Foundation in Davao City.

(Ruby R. Bernardino/Pangasinan PIO)

Related News & Updates

28 December 2023
2023: Pangasinan's Year of Great Advancements
20 December 2023
Pangasinan shines in the recently concluded 2023 Regional Skills...
19 December 2023
TESDA spearheads 2023 Regional Skills Competition