Bayambang District Hospital


The Bayambang District Hospital was organized and established to provide medical services in July 01, 1980. It was originally named Bayambang Emergency Hospital and was initially located at the Bayambang Municipal Hall Annex, beside the Bayambang Town Hall, with a 10-bed capacity, under President Ferdinand E. Marcos, with assemblyman Felipe de Vera and Mayor Jaime P. Junio. During this period, there was an integration of Public Health Services and Hospital Services.

The first Chief of Hospital was Dr. Ernesto T. Mataban. He is the son of Don Teofilo C. Mataban and Laurena F. Trinidad who jointly donated the three hectares lot ( 30,000 sq. meters.) where the hospital is now located. (Bical Norte, Bayambang, Pangasinan)

In 1982, construction of Bayambang District Hospital began, particularly the main building, motor pool and operating room under the term of Dr. Gil P. Del Rosario, a former Rural Health Physician in Urbiztondo Pangasinan and a surgical resident physician of San Carlos General Hospital in San Carlos City now Pangasinan Provincial Hospital – PPH). In the same year, the hospital became a member of the Philippine Hospital Association.

In 1985, though partially completed construction, the facility was moved permanently to Bical Norte, Bayambang, Pangasinan and subsequently increased its Authorized Bed Capacity to 25.

In 1987, Dr. Del Rosario was replaced by Dr.Alfredo Gomez, an ENT Specialist at Pangasinan Provincial Hospital (PPH) however, after a short stint in the hospital; he opted to go back to PPH due to slipped disc caused by constant travel to Bayambang. He was replaced by Dr. Rodolfo C. Catbagan who was then theChief of Clinics of La Union Provincial Hospital. In 1990 he was replaced by Dr. Armando DG Andaya, a Rural Health Physician of the municipality of Malasiqui, who served the hospital for four (4) years and at this time, the hospital bed capacity was increased to 50.

Dr. Nicolas O. Miguel became the Chief of Hospital in 1994, he was the first resident physician who initiated the hospital site planning, landscaping, and planting of different types of trees within the hospital premises. During his term, significant hospital services were accredited by the Department of Health (DOH) such as the Philhealth Insurance and Sentrong Sigla, Newborn Screening, Animal Bite Treatment Center, and Basic Emergency Management of Obstetrics and Newborn Care (BEMONC).

The Hospital was a regular beneficiary of the Philippine Charity Sweepstakes Office to augment the drugs and medicines needs of indigent patients. The Hospital also became the awardee as the healthiest Place in Region I. It was also chosen to become a pilot area on Hospital Reform Agenda.

In 2013, Dr. Miguel was assigned to Mangatarem District Hospital. He was replaced by Dr. Edgardo Espinosa (Surgeon) as ChiefofHospital ofBayambang District Hospital. During the latter’s term, there was a significant increase in the number of surgical operations. After a year, Dr. Espinosa returned to Mangatarem District Hospital while Dr. Miguel returned to Bayambang District Hospital. Expansion of its hospital services was done by completing the construction of a Clinical Laboratory, TB DOTS Clinic, Public Health Office, Administrative building, Kitchen and Dietary building, staff quarters and hospital canteen. He was the Chief of Hospital until his retirement on December 26, 2015.

After the retirement of Dr. Miguel, Dr. Nario Ferrer was assigned as the Officer in Charge – Chief of Hospital. Due to its expansive health services, there was an influx of patients, thus, an increase to 89 Authorized Bed Capacity was approved by the DOH in 2018.

On January 11, 2019, Dr. Athena Marie C. Merrera, was the first female assigned as the Officer in Charge – Chief of Hospital of Bayambang District Hospital (BDH) replacing Dr. Ferrer. Dr. Merrera initiated the implementation of the Newborn Hearing Screening Test as mandated by law. She initiated the first steps for the Bayambang District Hospital to be Certified o f ISO 9001: 2015 certification.

While on the process of ISO 9001: 2015, COVID-19 pandemic was on March 2020. Bayambang District Hospital was the very first hospital to b eon lockdown. Despite the challenges brought by the pandemic, the hospital staff was able to provide safe medical services to patients and all hospital employees amidst the pandemic.

On September 16, 2020, Dr. Stachys Neil E. Espino the youngest OIC Chief assigned to the hospital, a 3 year strategic plan was set and created a strategy Map to guide the management of its future plans focusing on operational and tactical planning and ISO 9001: 2015 plans for certification was pushed through.

On October 13, 2022, Dr. Athena Marie C. Merrera was re-assigned at BDH. Last December 2022, the BDH was issued an Accreditation on ISO 9001:2015. In the advent of changing times and adapting to the new mandate of the new Governor in the person of Ramon V. Guico III, a Provincial 9-year Strategic Management Plan is formulated.